So, where do you see yourself in five years?


bewaresignSince I failed to marry someone to keep me in the style to which I wanted to become accustomed….I know the only way I would be ‘independently wealthy’ is to sell my house within the next year and move to a cheaper place.  Cheaper meaning a place with lower or no property taxes, as my property taxes are now higher than the mortgage!  Really. We pay about $400 a month  in property taxes (more or less, with exemptions), and  Mayor Rahm,instead of promoting the tax on  investment trades, is closing our public schools and laying off teachers (all the while with evidence that the charter schools are not providing a better  education product for our students) & lets not forget Barbara Byrd Bennet, who  ripped off the students not just  for her outrageous salary, but for $20 mil in  a skim for her ‘consulting firm’!  & lets not forget payouts for  bad police behavior.  Yeah yeah yeah—this has been going on since at least Daley, if not before, but it’s now over the top.

At one time, I saw myself owning a boarding kennel and showing dogs, but it really took Enron, 911, and the financial crash of 2008 (read Michael Lewis’ “The Big Short” if you’re unclear about  this), to dash that. In fact, I had learned about  the craziness of land speculation  when I was in grad school, but we all had to be in denial  or we  would have  given up.  In any case, that  was  one of the first nails in the coffin of ‘the fancy’, which I have blogged about ad nauseam.   Many of my naive kennel club members really believe we have to support AKC lobbying efforts on behalf of commercial breeders, as this affects all breeders. But come on—can we not come up with  a number of dogs a dog lover can keep  and have a relationship with?  Sure, some puppy mills, like Blythewood, breed excellent dogs….but is Joan Huber or her staff actually screening buyers….or do they  just think that anyone who would pay that much will automatically provide a good home?  I am sure she doesn’t care if less honorable  puppy mill breeders buy from her.  I am sure the explanation is that ‘at least they are buying genetically sound dogs to breed.’

I love grooming dogs, but I can see what’s happening, too. Fewer people  care if the  dog  actually looks good, and fewer people are training their dogs anything.  Fewer people are middle class.  I’ve been working at businesses in upscale areas, where  people can afford the service, but more and more are getting mixed breed dogs—and they are not rescues.  They are still believing the marketing.   It’s very discouraging, because many of these mixed breed ‘designer dogs’   you can’t make look good. Their coats are just impossible. I may spend more time training my own dogs .

About 30 years ago, after Peace Corps, I was thinking of  academia, but it’s hard to  get in, except as an adjunct, and frankly, though it is hard to believe, dog groomers make more per hour!

So, I see myself now as mostly retired, maybe grooming  2 to 3 days a week,  doing volunteer work, and traveling several times a year.   I really have enjoyed the Saluki Club of America and the American Whippet Club weeks of specialties, with all their activities.  I still have not been to Central America or Hawaii.  I’ll just have to see how it goes…

Leave a Reply

